Indian Premier League has become one of the most popular cricket tournaments ever since its launch in 2008. It is considered as a cricket festival and has gained tremendous popularity worldwide.

It has also proved to be an important platform for young players to showcase their talents and get the opportunity to play with leading cricket players from across the globe.

Over the last 10 years, IPL has evolved a lot, and it has continued to encourage players to put up a great show for the spectators. Among many other aspects of this tournament, awards are something that always gives an adrenaline rush to both, players as well as fans.

What Is An Orange Cap?

The orange cap is awarded every year to the player who has scored the maximum number of runs in the entire IPL season. Ever since the launch of the first season in 2008, players with outstanding batsmanship have been awarded this cap.

Top Winners Of The IPL Orange Cap

Below are some of the players who have taken the Orange Cap during the different seasons of the Premier League.

Shaun Marsh (2008)

In the inaugural season of IPL, 8 teams played against each other in a total of 58 matches for a time span of 2 months. In the first season Shaun Marsh, an Australian batsman from Kings XI Punjab was awarded the orange cap for his highest score of 616.

Mathew Hayden  (2009)

Mathew Hayden won the orange cap in the second season with a total score of 572 in 12 matches. The Australian player bagged 5 half-centuries and with a notable average of 52.00

Sachin Tendulkar (2010)

Sachin Tendulkar played for the Mumbai Indians, one of the best IPL teams.  The player received an orange cap for his 618 runs in 15 matches.

Chris Gayle (2011)

One of the strongest IPL players, Chris Gayle, won the cap in season 4. He scored 608 runs in merely 12 matches.

Chris Gayle (2012)

Chirs Gayle is the first player in IPL history to win the orange cap for two consecutive seasons.  In season 5 he scored a total of 733 runs that included 59 sixes.

Michael Hussey (2013)

In 2013, Chennai Super Kings was the runner-up of the season. But Michael Hussey won the orange cap for his score of 733 runs in 16 matches.

Robin Uthappa (2014)

Robin Uthappa is one of the best players in Kolkata Knight Riders. He won the orange cap in season 6 for his score of 660 runs.

David Warner (2015)

This Aussie player is the star of Sunrisers Hyderabad. He was awarded the orange cap in season 8 for his score of 562 runs.

Virat Kohli (2016)

Virat Kohli holds the record for the most runs in the IPL seasons. He awarded an orange cap for his score of 973 runs in IPL 2016.

David Warner (2017)

David Warner received his orange cap in the 10th season. The player scored 641 runs.

Kane Williamson (2018)

Kane Williamson is the first player from New Zealand to win an orange cap. He scored 735 runs in 17 matches in 2018.

IPL 2020 is all set to start in the month of May, and fans are eager to see their favorite players compete for head-on to win the trophy in enthralling matches.